Muthu prabhu had written to Sunshine Bakeries and Gardenia Foods, and they had confirmed that their breads are suitable for vegetarians. Please see the following correspondence:
Thank you for your call. As spoken, the emulsifiers used in our bread are from vegetable origins.
Our bread is free from animal origins with the exception of those which contain skim milk powder, if you are dairy-intolerant.
We thank you for your suggestion on stating ‘vegetable origin’ for our emulsifiers in our nutrition information and will be looking into it.
We appreciate your valuable feedback and look forward to your support of Sunshine Bakeries products.
From: Angela Li
Date: Tuesday, March 18, 2008, 10:26 AM
Dear Mr. Muthu,
We wish to highlight that the ingredients panel on our product packaging is by and largely sufficient detailed to allow informed decisions for one’s dietary consideration.
For information, our product source are all from plant source unless otherwise stated, such as eggs which can be found in our Filled Buns such as Gardenia Chocolate Custard Buns, Sweet Corn Buns, etc. Our advice would be for individual consumers to read the ingredient panel carefully and to use it as a guide before making purchase for a particular type of bread.
We hope the above information has been useful and sincerely look forward for your continued support. Please do not hesitate to contact us at 6778 5666 should you require further clarification.
Public Relations Executive
Gardenia Foods (S) Pte. Ltd.
Tel: (65) 6778 5666
Fax: (65) 6873 5492