1. Lacto-vegetarian: A person who does not eat eggs, but does eat dairy products. Hindus belong to this category. Hindu scriptures like the Rig-Vedam, Mahabaratha, Ramayana, Srimad Bhagavatam, Ayur Veda, Manu-Smirities have encouraged the consumption of milk. Strict Hindus, i.e., spiritual aspirants, eschew onions and garlic.

2. Jain vegetarian: A person who excludes from his diet meat, fish and eggs, potatoes, onions, garlic, carrots and other roots and tubers.

Note: Traditionally, Jains have been lacto-vegetarians, but modern dairy farming methods, particularly what happens to the male calves (the veal market) has caused many to pursue a vegan diet eating no animal products. Generally, they avoid mushrooms, fungus and yeasts too.

3. Vegan: A person who does not eat meat of any kind and also does not eat eggs, dairy products, or processed foods containing these or other animal-derived ingredients such as gelatin. Many vegans also refrain from eating foods that are made using animal products that may contain animal products in the finished process, such as sugar and some wines. Note: Some even eschew certain foods, such as honey.

4. Raw vegan: A raw vegan diet consists of unprocessed vegan foods that have not been heated above 115 degrees Fahrenheit (46 degrees Celsius). “Raw foodists” believe that foods cooked above this temperature have lost a significant amount of their nutritional value and are harmful to the body.

5. Lacto-ovo vegetarian: A person who does not eat beef, pork, poultry, fish, shellfish or animal flesh of any kind, but does eat eggs and dairy products.

6. Ovo-vegetarian: A person who does not eat meat or dairy products but allows eggs in his diet.

7. Pescatarian(aka “pescetarian): A person who abstains from eating all meat and animal flesh with the exception of fish. Although the word is not commonly used, more and more people are adopting this kind of diet, usually for health reasons or as a stepping stone to a fully vegetarian diet.

8. Flexitarian: A person who eats a mostly vegetarian diet, but occasionally eat meat. (Some modern-day twaddle, if you ask me).

9. Macrobiotics: The macrobiotic diet, revered by some for its healthy and healing qualities, includes unprocessed vegan foods, such as whole grains, fruits and vegetables, and allows the occasional consumption of fish. Sugar and refined oils are avoided. Perhaps, the unique qualifier of the macrobiotic diet is its emphasis on the consumption of Asian vegetables, such as daikon, and sea vegetables, such as seaweed.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s